Membro della SCNAT

La SGS promuove le scienze geologiche in Svizzera. Pubblica la rivista «Swiss Journal of Geosciences» e organizza simposi e incontri dei gruppi di interesse, nonché escursioni tematiche.di più

Immagine: Naturmotive, stock-adobe.comdi più


Every year the Swiss Geological Society presents the following prizes:

  • The Paul Niggli Medal
  • The Amanz Gressly Prize
  • A cash prize of CHF 3000 for the best MSc thesis at a Swiss institution
  • Travel and conference awards to attend national and international conferences
  • The Oswald Heer-Preis (2017)

Paul Niggli Medal

The Board of the Paul Niggli Foundation decided to award the Paul Niggli Medal 2021 to Arya Udry (University of Nevada, Las Vegas), in recognition of her innovative research in the field of igneous petrology, geochemistry and thermodynamic modeling of Martian meteorites to understand planetary igneous differentiation processes. The award ceremony took place during the 2021 virtual SGM meeting in Geneva. The citation from Prof. O. Müntener and the response of the awardee are published in the Swiss Journal of Geosciences (volume 114, article 23).

The Paul Niggli Medal 2020 was awared to Andres J. McCarthy (now at ETH Zürich) in recognition of his innovative research in the field of trans-crustal igneous petrology, mantle processes and large-scale geodynamics from rifting to subduction initiation using field observations, drill core data and modrn analytical techniques.

Prize "Amanz Gressly" (SPS)

During the General Assembly, the Swiss Palaeontological Society honours the major contribution of a person in the field of palaeontology with the prize "Amanz Gressly". The 2021 Amanz Gressly Award goes to Heinz Furrer.

Best MSc thesis award

The 2021 best MSc thesis award was given to Markus Rast (ETH Zürich) for the thesis: "Geology, geochronology and rock magnetics along Bedretto tunnel (Gotthard Massif, Central Alps) and numerical modelling of quartz-biotite aggregates". The thesis involved fieldwork in the BedrettoLab tunnel, investigating the magnetism of quartz-biotite shear zones, detailed structural analyses and modelling, as well as zircon dating from the shear zones and the host granit. The Jury was particularly impressed by the large range of topics that were covered by the thesis. Markus Rast successfully related all different research directions of to a well-rounded thesis that truly helps understanding the thermal, temporal and tectonic evolution of the Gotthard massif in the context of the Alpine orogeny. The award ceremony took place during the 2021 virtual SGM meeting in Geneva.

The 2020 best MSc thesis award was given to Corin Jorgenson (Université de Genève). Corin received a CHF 3000 cash prize from the Swiss Geological Society for her thesis: "Consequences of magma-CO2 interaction for explosive volcanism at Colli Albani (Italy)". The award ceremony took place during the 2020 virtual SGM meeting in Zürich.